

## **Press Release**

Contact: Linden Wicklund, Executive Director

Phone (612) 623-1110

Release: Immediate

## **AASP-MN Awards Scholarships to Automotive Students**

The Alliance of Automotive Service Providers of Minnesota (AASP-MN) is pleased to announce it has awarded twenty-two scholarships totaling \$20,000 to help automotive service and collision repair students pay for tuition or tools during the 2023-24 school year. The scholarships are in the amounts of \$500 - \$1,500 and are made possible by the generous donation from the Minnesota State I-CAR Committee, as well as proceeds from AASP-MN's Annual Race for Automotive Education fundraiser.

Thirty college and high school students from 10 schools submitted completed applications. Applications were reviewed by a committee of industry representatives, with consideration given to scholastic achievement, education and career goals, financial need, and written recommendations.

## The recipients are:

- Gregory Arreola, Dakota County Technical College, Rosemount Auto Body Collision Repair
- Jonathan Broenen, Dakota County Technical College, Rosemount Auto Body Collision Repair
- Isaac DeBilzan, Hennepin Technical College, Brooklyn Park Automotive Service Technology
- Matthew Foster, Lake Superior College, Duluth Automotive Service Technology
- Mason Frank, Dakota County Technical College, Rosemount Automotive Service Technology
- Ty Gregor, St. Cloud Technical & Community College, St. Cloud Automotive Service Technology
- Jonathan Herrera-Martinez, Hennepin Technical College, Eden Prairie Automotive Service Technology
- Joshua Hogan, Century College, White Bear Lake Automotive Service Technology
- Catherine Jacobs, Dunwoody College of Technology, Minneapolis Auto Body Collision Repair
- Jacob Lee Marwyn Paulson, Century College, White Bear Lake Automotive Service Technology
- Lex Lewison, Riverland Community College, Albert Lea Automotive Service Technology
- Sydnie Mailer-Kelly, Dakota County Technical College, Rosemount Automotive Service Technology
- Cindy McCulley, Hennepin Technical College, Eden Prairie Auto Body Collision Repair
- Zack McLaughlin, Dakota County Technical College, Rosemount Automotive Service Technology
- Eric Otam, Dakota County Technical College, Rosemount Automotive Service Technology
- Peter Rozeboom, Dunwoody College of Technology, Minneapolis Auto Body Collision Repair
- Margaret Sager, Lake Superior College, Duluth Automotive Service Technology
- Landon Stookey, Dakota County Technical College, Rosemount Automotive Service Technology
- Julia Swanson, Dakota County Technical College, Rosemount Auto Body Collision Repair
- Tomas Szambelan, Dakota County Technical College, Rosemount Auto Body Collision Repair
- Samweil Tawfik, Century College, White Bear Lake Automotive Service Technology
- Joshua Taylor, Hennepin Technical College, Eden Prairie Automotive Service Technology

Congratulations to all this year's recipients!

The scholarship awards are the centerpiece of AASP-MN's Automotive Education Fund, which was established to provide financial resources to support automotive students, enhance automotive programs and raise awareness of career opportunities in the independent automotive service industry.

##

AASP-MN is an association of independently owned automotive service businesses and industry suppliers dedicated to improving Minnesota's automotive service industry and the success of its nearly 700 members. For more information, visit <a href="https://www.aaspmn.org">www.aaspmn.org</a>.