Press Release



Contact: Linden Wicklund, Executive Director Phone (612) 623-1110

Release: Immediate

AASP-MN Awards Scholarships to Automotive Students

The Alliance of Automotive Service Providers of Minnesota (AASP-MN) is pleased to announce it has awarded sixteen scholarships totaling \$16,000 to help automotive service and collision repair students pay for tuition or tools during the 2024-25 school year. The scholarships are \$1,000 each and are made possible by the generous donation from the Minnesota State I-CAR Committee, as well as proceeds from AASP-MN's Annual Race for Automotive Education fundraiser.

Thirty-five college and high school students from 14 schools submitted completed applications. Applications were reviewed by a committee of industry representatives, with consideration given to scholastic achievement, education and career goals, financial need, and written recommendations.

The recipients are:

- Lillian Baas, Riverland Community College, Albert Lea Automotive Service Technology
- Jose Benitez-Lopez, Dunwoody College of Technology, Minneapolis Auto Body Collision Repair
- Jonathan Bradt, Century College, White Bear Lake Automotive Service Technology
- Zachary Burg, St. Cloud Technical & Community College, St. Cloud Automotive Service Technology
- Brandon Canfield, MN State Community & Technical College, Moorhead Automotive Service Technology
- Wyatt Dehne, Ridgewater College, Willmar Auto Body Collision Repair
- Sara Hernandez, Ridgewater College, Willmar Automotive Service Technology
- Coleton Kiel, St. Cloud Technical & Community College, St. Cloud Auto Body Collision Repair
- Brendon Koenig, Dakota County Technical College, Rosemount Automotive Service Technology
- Catherine McKinney, Minnesota North College, Hibbing Automotive Service Technology
- Vanessa Nichols, Lake Superior College, Duluth Automotive Service Technology
- Ash Rasche, Dunwoody College of Technology, Minneapolis Automotive Service Technology
- Jonathan Santana-Delgado, Century College, White Bear Lake Automotive Service Technology
- Isabell Schmidt, South Central College, North Mankato Auto Body Collision Repair
- Jose Sosa-Martinez, Hennepin Technical College, Eden Prairie Auto Body Collision Repair
- Emma Wickstrom, Hennepin Technical College, Brooklyn Park Automotive Service Technology

Congratulations to all this year's recipients!

The scholarship awards are the centerpiece of AASP-MN's Automotive Education Fund, which was established to provide financial resources to support automotive students, enhance automotive programs and raise awareness of career opportunities in the independent automotive service industry.

AASP-MN is an association of independently owned automotive service businesses and industry suppliers dedicated to improving Minnesota's automotive service industry and the success of its nearly 600 members. For more information, visit <u>www.aaspmn.org</u>.